Review: Eighteen: 18 by J.A. Huss

Eighteen: 18 by J.A. Huss

 Eighteen is hard.
 And so is Mateo Alesci.
 He’s hard to read, hard to predict, hard in every way that counts. He wants 
 things from me.
 Dirty things, nasty things, forbidden things.
 And I have to give in.
 His attention is completely inappropriate, but I can’t say no. The way he looks
 at me… the way he watches me through my bedroom window… the way he drags me 
 deeper and deeper into his completely forbidden fantasy world just…turns me on.
 He knows it turns me on.
 He holds all the power. He holds all the cards.
 He holds my entire future in his hands.
 And I have to give in.
 Because Mr. Alesci is my teacher.
 And I need everything he’s offering. 
My Rating: 2.5 stars (because of Sunday)

I don’t know why I keep reading teacher/student romances when I’m not fond of the trope. I think I’m waiting to find one I’ll actually like, so far nada – this definitely is not it. There was barely any romance, but that’s beside the point. My biggest problem with this is Mateo, I could not find it in myself to like him the slightest. His inappropriate touching on their first meeting was a huge turn off; maybe if there had been a slow burn I would have had a different opinion, but sadly it was not. And, his biggest turn off was his stalking, as someone who has had stalkers (two), I did not enjoy how lightly it was portrayed. And, when he talked about how he walked into her room and started touching her in the middle of the night, it was very disturbing. It may have been a fantasy, but that does not make it any less disturbing.

Now, Sunday was a whole different story. I really did enjoy his character, and I love how he not only respected Shannon’s decision of not wanting to be more than and he was still kind and friendly. The world really needs more men like that. And, as for Sunday knowing Olivia was being drugged, I feel like he should have told Shannon despite it making sense that he did not tell her. He really expected her to know, and she should have been more aware of her surroundings, but she was caught in her own world. It is clearly a grey area.

I would love to read a book on Sunday. I hope the Huss decides to write one.

One thought on “Review: Eighteen: 18 by J.A. Huss

Leave a Reply

