Review: Making Headlines by Jennifer Hansen

Making Headlines by Jennifer Hansen

Publication Date: January 1st, 2016

Genre: Romance, General Fiction (Adult)

Be careful what you wish for – your dream job could become your biggest nightmare. making headlines by jennifer hansenFor fans of THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA and BRIDGET JONES’S DIARY.

Working as a TV reporter has its challenges, but when Rachel Bentley decides to aim high and become a newsreader, she faces a whole new minefield of explosive scenarios.

Rachel’s path sees her pitched against egos in the newsroom, office politics and corrupt politicians, not to mention rampant sexism and a mystery stalker. Juggling a messy personal life doesn’t help, nor does the emotional impact of reporting on life’s tragedies and when it all takes a toll and Rachel starts partying too hard, she finds herself making the headlines instead of reading them.

Will she survive a world where dreams are shattered daily and will she find the man who can help her keep her soul?

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

My Rating: 3 stars

Making Headlines follows Rachel Bentley as she makes her dream as a newsreader come true. It’s not easy with office politics, sexism, gossip, and a mysterious stalker involved.

I am not particularly fond of the first half of the book, and I was unable to connect with Rachel. I found her expectations immensely high for a 23 year old, having a goal is great but expecting to obtain that goal in a matter of weeks/months is foolish.

I did, however, like the side characters, Julie was amazing, and so was Evie. I quite liked her group of friends. I wasn’t particularly fond of Tim, or Damien. Mitch was alright, I liked him more than the others.

I was really tempted to not finish this, but forced myself to continue. As the stalker drama intensified I became more intrigued. And, the main reason I finished and semi enjoyed it is because of the stalker mystery.

ARC kindly provided via NetGalley for the exchange of an honest review.

About the Author

JENNIFER HANSEN is best known to TV audiences as the former co-host of Channel Ten’s 5pm news. These days Jennifer works in radio as part of Smooth FM’s breakfast show where she reads the news and chats with Mike Perso about all things Melbourne.

In between media gigs, Jennifer went back to ‘school’ – taking up the ‘Professional Writing and Editing’ course at RMIT. That has helped her complete her first novel and two screenplays.

Occasionally she remembers to look after her family – including husband Neighbours actor Alan Fletcher (aka Dr Karl Kennedy) and their two children, Veronica and Tom.

Website Twitter

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s