Review: A Stolen Kiss by Kelsey Keating

A Stolen Kiss
by Kelsey Keating
Stolen Royals Series
Publication Date:
March 1st, 2016
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

a stolen kiss by kelsey keating.jpg

A stolen kiss. An unstable curse. One big mess in the making.

Derric Harver never expected to amount to anything more than the palace stableboy, but when Princess Maria’s curse keeps her from accepting a prince’s proposal, she turns to him for help, and he doesn’t dare refuse.

With the help of a lady’s maid and a prince, Derric and Maria embark on a dangerous adventure to find the sorceress who cast the curse. Along the way they battle deadly creatures and make new friends–all the while struggling with the undeniable chemistry between them. Reaching their destination won’t be easy, but the true danger peril in the truths they’ve fought for years to keep hidden.

Amazon

My rating: 3 stars

A Broken Kiss follows a stablebay, a princess, her handmaiden, and a prince. They travel the land to find the sorceress to undo the curse placed on the princess. Magical creatures, magical land, and near deaths did not make it an easy one.

This was a light, fluffy story, which started off a bit slow but quickly picked up. The characters were likeable and their relationships were sweet and a great change from the usual.

The prince and princess not falling in love at first sight was a nice, however, I could not connect with Maria falling in love with Daniel/Derric and vice versa. I believed it was the binding that ignited her feelings and the explanation at the end was not satisfactory for me.

However, despite me not feeling the romance, I did enjoy the story overall. I enjoyed Daniel/Derric and Humphrey’s bromance. I felt they had the most substance. Sarah’s evolution was alright, but I just wasn’t feeling Maria’s.

Some of the twists were predictable, but that did not stop me from enjoying it. Overall, it was a fluffy read, something I’d recommend to read if one wants to take a break.

ARC kindly provided via NetGalley for the exchange of an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: A Stolen Kiss by Kelsey Keating

  1. Geronimo Reads says:

    I ended up DNF’ing this book because it was too slow. I also couldn’t stand the 2 female characters. I agree with you on the Derric & Humphrey’s friendship. They were the only 2 characters I enjoyed. Glad you were able to like it, though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • booksblurbsandbeyond says:

      It did start off quite slow. I wasn’t particularly fond of Maria, and I think I was okay with Sarah because despite finding out some hard truths she didn’t let it affect her relationship with someone. (I don’t want to spoil it even though you DNF it).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

