Review: Lucky Me by Saba Kapur

lucky me by saba kapur.jpg

Lucky Me
by Saba Kapur
Publication Date:
April 5th, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Women’s Fiction

For eighteen year old Gia Winters, having a movie star for a father, a former Playboy bunny as a mother, a Hollywood mansion, and a closet stocked with Chanel is simply another day in the life.

But her world is turned upside down when her father mysteriously hires a group of bodyguards to trail the family 24/7 and threatening phone calls from a “Dr. D” start buzzing daily.

When Gia scores the coveted role of Miss Golden Globe, she is forced to strike a deal with her bodyguard, Jack, who is almost as arrogant as he is attractive. Juggling Gia’s romantic failures, fashion faux pas, and celebrity obsessions, the duo investigate a series of clues with the help of a police cadet, who has a special set of skills and an even better set of dimples.

But with the Golden Globes just around the corner, danger levels rise higher than her stilettos as Gia learns that the biggest secrets might be the ones buried in her own home.

In a place where the hills have eyes, high school nemeses, bad hair days, raging parties, and stolen kisses, there can only be trouble for a girl who was just starting to consider herself lucky.

amazon
My rating: 3.5 stars

Lucky Me follows Gia Winters, daughter of a movie star father and a former Playboy bunny mother. One day her father mysteriously hires a group of bodyguards, and just when she thought her life could not get any worse she discovers she has a stalker. When she lands the role of Miss Golden Globe, she is forced to make a deal with her bodyguard, Jake.

I tried my best to like Gia, but I was unable to for majority of the book because of her over dramatic behaviour and her obsession with falling in love (or not falling in love). I was not particularly fond of how falling in love/lust or becoming the future Mrs. Blank were the first thoughts she had when meeting a good looking guy. I did, however, enjoy her sense of humour and her behaviour whenever she would become nervous (I could I actually connect with her then). I also enjoyed her love for Channing Tatum and George Clooney.

I really did like Jack, her bodyguard. He was down to earth, and funny. I enjoyed his relationship with Gia, it was really fun to read. Their banter, teasing, flirting, everything was entertaining. The other characters did make leave much of an impact. The mystery stalker plot was well written. I quite like reading about their adventures to solve the mystery.

I would have liked the end to be a bit different, but I still enjoyed what Kapur cooked. It was unpredictable and funny at the same time. I think it is impressive Kapur created such a story at such a young age. She has a lot of potential and I would love to see her writing grow.

I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for a fluffly read.

ARC kindly provided via NetGalley for the exchange of an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Lucky Me by Saba Kapur

Leave a Reply

