Review | Flying by the Seat of My Knickers by Eliza Watson

Flying by the Seat of my Knickers final.jpg

Flying by the Seat of My Knickers by Eliza Watson
Genre: NA Contemporary
Release Date: March 25th 2016

Why run from your troubles when you can fly instead? 

When Caity Shaw is fired from her first job that doesn’t require an elf uniform, her older sister, Rachel, an event planner, hires her to work a meeting in Dublin. Caity jumps at the opportunity to travel abroad and escape her pathetic life. However, even four thousand miles from home, there’s no avoiding debt collectors, an overbearing mother, and haunting memories of a controlling ex. 

While in Dublin, Caity suffers a series of humiliating mishaps, causing her to lose even more faith in herself. Caity struggles to earn Rachel’s respect—and to keep Declan, her hot Irish coworker, at arm’s length. Declan repeatedly saves Caity’s butt and helps boost her self-confidence, making it difficult to keep her distance from the charming womanizer. When Declan helps her research her Irish grandmother, Caity discovers the mysterious past of the courageous woman she barely knew might hold the answers to her future. 

Amazon | Goodreads

My Review
My rating: 4.5 stars

Flying by the Seat of my Knickers follows Caity Shaw and her journey to find herself/hide (?). After getting fired from her job Caity travels aboard to work for her sister, Rachel. However, things don’t go as planned and Caity ends up suffering a few mishaps causing her to lose more self-confidence. With the help of her co-worker, Declan, Caity starts gaining more confidence and learning more about her Irish grandmother.

This is one of the cutest books I’ve ever read. I’m still on high from it. It’s a power pack filled with laughter, joy, and growth. Caity is an amazing and relatable protagonist. She was sucked into a relationship with a manipulative ex and once she got out she didn’t have a lot of self-esteem. I adored her growth in this book, she worked really hard to impress her sister and when it backfired a few times she was really bummed. But, I love how that didn’t stop her from trying again. The mystery of her Irish grandmother is quite intriguing and I cannot wait to find out more about it. I also loved the romance – it’s going to be a slow burn and I’m so excited. 😀 I cannot wait for more Declan and Caity.

When I first started I had a feeling it would remind me of Confessions of a Shopaholic, however, it didn’t. Don’t be fooled by the synopsis. The plot, characters, writing style, everything about it is near perfection. I can already tell this will be a go to book for me and Watson can easily become one of my go to authors.

I received a reader’s copy in exchange of an honest review.

About the Author
7125311.jpg
I am a #1 Kindle Bestselling Author! My first attempt at creative writing was in fourth grade. My friends and I were huge Charlie’s Angels fans and I would sit in my bedroom at night writing scripts for us to act out at recess the following day. I was Kelly Garrett. The journey from fourth grade script writer to published author wasn’t an easy one, but it was always an adventure and the final destination was well worth it.

When I’m not traveling for my job as an event planner, or tracing my ancestry roots through Ireland, I’m at home working on my next novel, bouncing ideas off my husband, and my cats Quigley, Frankie, and Sammy.I also write romance novels under the name Eliza Daly.

 

Leave a Reply

